Fishing for Approval

The One that Got Away… From the Camera

Share Buttons ☝️ 

Hey Guys!

Happy Thanksgiving 🦃 and welcome to the 24th Issue of Guys Fishing Weekly!

Today in 5 minutes or less:

🥰 Is this all we really want in life?

🛣️ Enjoy the journey, because there is no destination

📽️ New Zealand Mega Trout

🎁 Giving Tuesday is Next Week, below is a giving guide!

Thanks for spending even just a little of your week with us. We are grateful for you!

Enjoy,

- The GFW Boys

Look at my techie tripod!

It seems to be that every group of fisherman has the guy that seems to “catch the most fish” on any given outing. And it isn’t that he is a better fisherman, but rather, he just does it more often. Other guys cast just as well as he does, and others seem to be able to get to spots where he may be physically limited. There are definitely times when other guys catch more fish than him, but no matter the circumstances, he always seems to do pretty well.

I seem to be that guy, and it really is just because I fish more.

And you’d think that because I fish more, I would have an expert level knowledge about the feeding habits of trout. That’s not the case.

I know as much as the next guy who fishes pretty regularly…nymphs low and deep, emergers rising and just below the surface, dries on top, all depending on what you see the fish doing. Yes, there’s WAY more going on in a river at any given time, but I like to keep things simple, and I mostly do ok.

But no matter how well I fish, there is always room for improvement. That’s the best part of fly-fishing. It’s not something you can ever master because, as John Gierach writes, “It’s impossible to master. However good you get, there will always be casts you can’t make and fish you can’t catch.” And even though I am that guy of the group of dudes I fish with, there are new things I am learning, or bumbling through, that keep me grounded and humble.

As my partner, Ed, and I venture into the process of promoting Guys Fishing Weekend as a business to build a fishing community and help address the epidemic of loneliness in men, there are aspects of it that are brand new to a 55-year-old schoolteacher. Namely, technology.

I would be what you consider “Old School” to the middle schoolers I teach. I regularly need their help with all things computer and technology in my classroom. I like to think of it as a learning Dojo, where I allow them the freedom to have real world experience, helping those around them and realizing that old people can learn from young people.

When you frame it like that to them, you don’t feel so stupid… pretty sure they know the difference. And most of the time they aren’t afraid to let me know they know.

Technology is my Kryptonite. But unlike Superman, I can improve and learn how to use it. I believe it to be much like fly-fishing: you can gain an immense amount of knowledge but never know it all. That’s the goal — get better.

So, in order to impress my younger partner, who knows a hell of a lot more than I do, I have taken to strapping the newly bought GoPro to my head whenever I go fishing in order to create content for our venture.

The fly-fishing purists are probably cringing at the thought of this, but it is a progressive thought process and necessary in order to help create and build a community. And that’s the goal. Because everyone wants to belong.

One day in particular early this spring, before runoff, I was fishing a section of stream fairly close to my house. It was a good day to be on the water, with a mix of sun and clouds, cool. I was working hard to make sure I was using the camera correctly, getting footage of me catching and missing fish, commenting along the way.

I am finding the best part of sifting through footage on my computer comes with listening to myself mumble on the river. I never knew how much I talk to myself when I fish. Those conversations always seemed to take place in my head. They don’t.

The morning was going great, as I brought a few fish to the net, but the fish weren’t really jumping. My footage was ok, but there was nothing spectacular.

I was looking to capture spectacular.

I wanted to show my partner that I could film one of those catches where the fish hits your fly, launches out of the water, and dances across the glassy wet dance floor! This shot was my quest for approval.

I was working my way up one side of the river, sticking to the banks, when I heard the undeniable beeping of the camera, signaling a dead battery. It just so happened that the side I was on was steep, with nowhere to take a time out, sit, and change the battery without running the real risk of dropping it into the river. So, I decided to cross.

As I was working my way carefully across, being extra careful to keep my footing, there came a “moment” of decision. What presented itself in front of me, was a perfect structure and piece of water where there were fish, no doubt.

I was looking up stream at this giant boulder, and flat water behind it, causing two beautiful slots on either side, when it happened…the sun broke through a cloud and shone brightly down upon me. It was truly gorgeous.

What happened next was instinctual. Without thinking, I set my feet firmly on the slick, rocky riverbed, unhooked my line from its eyelet, and started the process of peeling line from the reel while backcasting. As I got to the point of perfect distance, I let my fat yellow Stimulator drop to the water nice and easy…

WHAM…fish on!

Not only did this pretty rainbow hammer my fly, he put on a production that most people would have paid to see.

He launched, he danced, he writhed, and he wiggled. It was something out of Little Richard video. It was something to behold, all through the ray of sunlight that acted like a spotlight centered on the front man of a band standing behind his mic!

It wasn’t until I put the fish in the net, when I realized none of it was caught on film. With a bit of that sunken heart feeling, I dropped an F-bomb or two while stumbling my way to the side of the river where I could at least grab my phone for a couple of pictures.

I wasn’t bummed out; after all, I caught a really nice fish, who unselfishly gave me a wonderful memory that is embedded as one of the best fishes I have caught this year. However, I desperately wanted the approval of my partner, despite being 20 years his elder.

I wanted him to see what I was capable of, especially given my struggles with technology. The experience would have made a great little piece of content for us.

As I sat on the side of the river after having released that pretty rainbow, my thoughts stayed in the moment. No, I didn’t get it all on film, and I failed to obtain the technology approval I desperately wanted.

Some people might get pissed about something like that, but my partner let me know there would be plenty more opportunities. He reinforced our newness at this venture, and he gave me kudos for giving it a go.

That’s all the approval I needed.

Some of Our Other Writing

Quote of the Week

"Life is not just about peaks and valleys, about wins and losses. Life is about the journey. You hear that all the time. You’ve got to absorb that. You’ve got to know that. The journey has to become the destination because there is no true destination. There is no endpoint. There is no goal. All rivers run to the sea and yet the sea is not full. Life goes on; accept what life gives you. The sun rises the morning after you win the championship or lose in the first round."

Paul Assaiante, Run to the Roar

What We Are Watching

Trout Hunting NZ

Fly Fishing Mega Trout on World’s Best Trophy Trout River!

A great example of a GFW, with a few buddies out fishing in New Zealand for some insanely beautiful Trophy Trout. The way these guys are out there working together to land these hogs is so much fun to watch. Not to mention the hat this guy wears… Definitely a bucket list adventure to get down there!

A Fish

@ultraflyfishing

Sea Run Dolly Varden

Look at the lipstick on that Dolly! @ultraflyfishing caught an absolute beauty in Alaska!

One Fly Pattern

@coastfly

Copper Glass Shrimp

@coastfly ties this spitting image of a Glass Shrimp, which is a freshwater shrimp in the southeastern United States. Not to be used for shrimp cocktail during holiday parties. Make sure to check out @coastfly’s page for more awesome patterns.

One Cause Next Tuesday is Giving Tuesday

So here are all of the causes we have highlighted so far!

Risers 4 Rett

Fly Fishing Events & Competitions to support the Rocky Mountain Rett Association

Fishing for the Mission 22

Focused on healing veterans through the therapeutic sport of fishing

Community Fly Fishing

Introducing BIPOC communities to the sport of fly fishing, through free community-based events

Fly Fishing Collaborative

Mobilizing the fly fishing community to create sustainable solutions to poverty & human trafficking

Keep Fish Wet

Helping Anglers improve the outcome for each fish they release

Cutthroat Co-Op

In partnership with the Grand Teton National Park Foundation Native Fish Conservation program in an effort to help restore and conserve native fish habitat

Deschutes River Alliance

Organization seeking collaborative solutions to the threats facing the Deschutes River and its tributaries

Casting For Recovery

Providing healing outdoor retreats for women with breast cancer, at no cost to the participants

 

Nuggets for Nibblin’

Boost Happiness with Generosity

Got Curiosity?

How Goldfish became everyone’s first pet

How long to make a friend

Can’t click yet… More details coming soon!

#River Thoughts

  • There's a whole generation of kids who think the sole purpose of an anvil is to drop it on a cartoon character's head. (Source: Reddit)

  • Elevators in video games never move. You just walk into a tiny room and the world outside changes. (Source: Reddit)

  • Salt is the only rock that is socially acceptable to eat (Source: Reddit)

  • The same species who put a man on the moon cannot put a shopping cart back in a corral (Source: Reddit)

What’d you think of today’s newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

The World is So Cool

@tourcanada

If you enjoyed this week’s newsletter, please share it with someone!

If this email was forwarded to you, consider subscribing to receive them in the future!