The Funny Guy

A Life Focused on Laughter

Share Buttons ☝️ 

Hey Guys!

Welcome to the 33rd Issue of Guys Fishing Weekly!

Today in 5 minutes:

🤣 Laughs Per Day

📣 Captains for Clean Water

📽️ Reel Change

🐟️ Montana Brown

Thanks for spending even just a little of your week with us. We are grateful for you!

Stay Legendary,

- The GFW Boys

The memories of family time together while growing up come with great fondness. I don’t have a huge extended family. In fact, I always joke that in comparison to my mid-western wife’s family, you could count the members of my entire family on two hands. Not quite, but close. As the youngest of three boys, I had to establish myself somehow. Somehow other than just being the runt of the litter.

If you were to ask my dad, and I know this because I have heard him tell others, he would tell you that, “Reid is the playful one. Of my three boys, Reid has always been the one to provide us with laughter and lighten the mood.” He wouldn’t be wrong. I don’t know if it comes from being the youngest and competing for attention, or if I just genuinely enjoy watching people smile and laugh, but my guess is it’s a combination of the two.

As I grew up, it didn’t matter what company I was in…I really loved laughing. And for all intents and purposes, I did a lot of it. “Growing Up” is an interesting term, in that, there are times, still, when I’m not sure I have accomplished this. These times arise during my own parenthood when I’m like a deer in headlights. I should know the grown-up thing to do, but I hesitate. I gotta really think about it.

My own kids take advantage of the laughter bug I seem to be hardwired with. Now that they are in that space of true young adults teetering on the line of becoming full blown adults, some of the best times come when they crack an inappropriate joke. It’s usually quite funny and genuinely makes me laugh…out loud. These are also the times when my wife easily makes me feel inept as a parent, as I shouldn’t be laughing.

But, we all have deficiencies and “things to work on” and mine would for sure fall in the category of “appropriateness.”

My wife does a lot of reading of psychology books and brain function. She is fascinated by it. Luckily for me, I don’t have to read those kinds of books very often, as I struggle to keep up with the psychology terms and concepts. However, I get the best parts about each of them because of what she shares with me. She gives me the highlights and is really good at dumbing it down, so I can understand.

One of the best tidbits she ever gave me is the enormous benefits we humans get from the metric of “LPD”, or (Laughs Per Day). This has stuck with us through our relationship and is a staple. We send jokes, memes, videos or stories from our day with each other with the sole purpose of increasing the LPDs. When we laugh together, we are happier. Duh…it seems obvious, but it is something that can get lost in raising kids, parenting, providing, and protecting.

If you watched my GoPro footage, you’d find evidence of a couple guys quietly sneaking up on an incredibly determined fisherman, focusing all his attention on his casting, so as not to spook the fish in the hole. You would hear one of them yell as loud as possible, “CATCHING anything?” Then you’d see the poor unsuspecting fisherman’s whole body spasm and watch him stumble on the slick rocks, as he tries to slow his heart rate and gather himself from being so severely jump scared. Finally, you would hear the uncontrollable laughter of the two who snuck up on him. A classic GFW LPD.

I surround myself with people who make me laugh. My closest and best friends are all people who bring humor and laughter into my life. Our best times at GFW are sitting around the poker table, cracking jokes, trying to one-up each other, seeking that perfect timing of originality that literally stops the game in its tracks because we can’t see the cards through the tears of hysteria.

The moments when you need tissues because your eyes are watering, which in turn makes your nasal cavity fill and your face hurt because it isn’t used to being in that position for so long, are the ones we never forget and live in the lore of GFW for years in the future.

Whether it be work, or sitting in the back of a staff meeting wisecracking inappropriate smart ass comments about all the acronyms of education, or drinking our morning coffee on GFW reminiscing about the previous days’ high-jinx, or text strands with my dad and brother, humor always seems to find a way into my everyday life.

LPDs…it’s all about the LPDs.

Some of Our Other Writing

Quote of the Week

The ultimate touchstone of friendship is not improvement, neither of the other nor of the self: the ultimate touchstone is witness, the privilege of having been seen by someone and the equal privilege of being granted the sight of the essence of another, to have walked with them and to have believed in them, and sometimes just to have accompanied them for however brief a span, on a journey impossible to accomplish alone.

David Whyte

What We Are Watching

Frequent Flyers | Reel Change (2024)

These guys tell one hell of a story with their films, and Reel Change doesn’t disappoint. This film follows the non-profit group White Clay Fly Fishers (website) and @flyfishdelawhere, as they stock the White Clay Creek in Delaware. A great mix of humor, education and history. Check this one out!

Fish of the Week

@stoneflyoutfitters’ Montana Brown

An absolute specimen of a brown trout caught by @stoneflyoutfitters! Dan “Rooster” Leavens, head honcho of the Stonefly Outfitters, with the fantastic catch, showing off what they’ve got up in Twin Bridges, MT. Check them out if you want a great guide and place to stay in SW Montana!

One Fly Pattern

@flyfish402

@flyfish402’s Mysis Shrimp

One Cause to Learn About

Captains For Clean Water

Captains For Clean Water is a grassroots 501(c)3 nonprofit organization that fights to restore and protect our water resources. First started in 2016, Captains for Clean Water work to advance science-based solutions through efforts focused on awareness and education, empowering people to speak up for water quality and hold elected officials accountable. Together, they’ve united the outdoor industry, environmental groups, business community and concerned citizens to protect Florida’s valuable resources and way of life for future generations.

Nuggets for Nibblin’

How to find a good Therapist

Soon we will be fishing on the Moon

10 Calmest US Tourist Attractions

Appreciate… just Appreciate.

Merch is Here!!!

20% off for subscribers only:

Wanna be a Better Fishing Buddy?

The GFW Weekly is free and will help you do just that! Subscribe to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now